BAFA Announce 2018 Sapphire Schedule

Saturday evening, BAFA Women’s have released the 2018 Sapphire Series Schedule, which includes the new format of 7-a-side balling in both tiers. 

We’ll have more analysis shortly, but for now, enjoy:

Per BAFA Women’s Football Facebook Page:

2018 SAPPHIRE SERIES – Schedules Announced:

The 2018 Sapphire Series – BAFA’s national championship for women’s football will kick-off on February 3rd.

This series features eighteen teams representing clubs from Scotland, Wales and England battling it out in three Divisions.

The eight teams that formed Division 1 in 2017 all return to contest the 2018 National Crown, which will be played using the Sapphire 7v7 format.

The new Division 2A will feature six teams making their first step-up from 5v5 format to play 7v7 and Division 2B is made-up of four developing teams contesting at the 5v5 format, including Sapphire new-comers, the Kent Exiles Women.

BAFA Head of Women’s Football Development, Jim Messenger, said; “This series will be an exciting mixture of old rivals renewing the battle for the national crown and developing teams striving to grow to the next level of competition. I guess the biggest question for most people will be if any team can overcome four-times champions Birmingham Lions Women to steal the national title this year. But the Division 2 battle will also be intense with an intriguing look at the teams stepping-up to the larger format in 2A.”

All games are played as part of multi-team tournaments to establish the divisional rankings going in to the finals tournaments, which will all take place on 17th March




Nick 'Willy Tee' Wilson-Town hails from the South West where he's spent the last decade bouncing around various teams at the university and senior level. He came to fame on the now departed unofficial forum thanks to his regularly irreverent Uniball predictions and general 'BUAFL wafflage'. Follow him on twitter @WillyTee1