BAFA National Teams Announce GB Lions Women’s Flag Roster

Sunday 22 April, following trials on Saturday, the BAFA National Teams Facebook page announced 2018’s Great British Gold and Silver Lions Women’s Flag Football roster.

Head Coach Andrew Gambrill emphasised the increasing difficulty in selecting the roster from the ever-expanding talent pool in women’s football:

“Each year selection gets harder and harder as the standards get higher. After a year of attending games, reading scouting reports, watching video and of course the open trial last weekend, have culminated in the squad selection. It was really tough, but we’re extremely happy with this squad of 30.”

The 30-player roster was named as:

  • Alice Briggs
  • Amy Slater
  • Amy Wells
  • Anu D’costa
  • Aynsley Barclay
  • Candice Simon
  • Cheryl Harley
  • Cindy Ponder
  • Ellie Thorpe
  • Emma Taylor
  • Faye Doherty
  • Grace Conway
  • Hannah Smith
  • Hattie Amiss
  • Jade Archibald
  • Jodie Harris
  • Kate Bruinvels
  • Kellie Barrett
  • Lindsey Anne Johnson
  • Lottie Laidler
  • Lou Lee
  • Millie Barrett
  • Phoebe Schecter
  • Rachael Carnduff
  • Rebecca Dex
  • Ruth Lewis
  • Siobhan Walker
  • Steph Tharme
  • Steph Warren
  • Vanessa Mansaray




Nick 'Willy Tee' Wilson-Town hails from the South West where he's spent the last decade bouncing around various teams at the university and senior level. He came to fame on the now departed unofficial forum thanks to his regularly irreverent Uniball predictions and general 'BUAFL wafflage'. Follow him on twitter @WillyTee1