BAFRA Annouce John Slavin Award Winner 2018 – The Norwich Devils

The British American Football Referees Association have announced the John Slavin Award winner for 2018 as the Norwich Devils – an impressive accomplishment for a team that only re-joined the National Leagues in 2018!

The John Slavin Award rewards those programmes that offer the best game day experience in terms of a well-marked field.

Decided by audits carried out by attending BAFRA officials, the previous winners of the Award were the Berkshire Renegades in 2016.

The Award caps off a highly successful first year back for the Devils, who finished third in the SFC 2 East this season, earning themselves playoff football.

DC visited with the Devils ahead of the season, and the programme deserves a lot of credit for the great set-up they’ve put together in recent years as they built towards a return to league action, with an impressive support network and well-organised committee.


BAFRA also announced the best-marked programmes for each of the game’s tiers:

Premier: Bury Saints

Division One: Cambridgeshire Cats

Division Two: Norwich Devils

Junior (Under 19s): London Warriors




Nick 'Willy Tee' Wilson-Town hails from the South West where he's spent the last decade bouncing around various teams at the university and senior level. He came to fame on the now departed unofficial forum thanks to his regularly irreverent Uniball predictions and general 'BUAFL wafflage'. Follow him on twitter @WillyTee1