#BUCSball Conference Structures Released!

**We’ll update this page as more information becomes available**

Conference structures have gone live on BUCS.org.uk and Double Coverage are bringing them to you hot off the press.

PLEASE NOTE: These structures are yet to be confirmed by either BUCS or BAFA, but are the ones currently displaying on the BUCS pages for the 16/17 university season.


Obviously there’s a lot here to digest, and we’re currently still churning out our content for this weekend’s ‘Festival of Gridiron’ (Eds: BAFA’s wording, not our own) so we’ll try to bring you updates as soon as we have them.

Some things to note:

  • There are three new programmes entering the league this season. Chester Legion, UCL Emperors and Queen Mary and Barts London Vipers.
  • These additions have led to some… interesting changes to the Division Two structure. Currently Division Two is being broken down into <strong>three conferences of seven teams in the North, and four conferences, one of seven, three of five, in the South. three conferences, two of seven and one of eight, in the south.
  • The belief is that Division Two programmes will be competing in a six game season. However, the playoffs for the ‘Conference Cup’ have been expanded to include eight teams from each half of the Uniball Basement Tier, allowing 16 teams out of 43 to progress to the postseason and extend their season by at least a game or more.
  • With the fixtures for BUCS 16-17 now live on dblcoverage.com it appears as though the eight team 2A South East will have a seven games season, in contrast to the six game seasons of the other Division Two Conferences.



Premier North

  • Derby
  • Durham
  • Loughborough
  • Nottingham Trent
  • Stirling


Premier South

  • Bath
  • Birmingham
  • Hertfordshire
  • Kingston
  • Swansea


Division One


1A North

  • Glasgow
  • Hull
  • Newcastle
  • Northumbria
  • Sunderland


1A North West

  • Leeds Beckett Carnegie
  • Manchester
  • Sheffield
  • Sheffield Hallam


1A Midlands

  • Liv’ John Moores
  • Nottingham
  • Staffordshire
  • Warwick
  • Worcester


1A South

  • Brighton
  •  Portsmouth
  • Reading
  • Surrey
  • Sussex


1A South East

  • Cambridge
  • East Anglia
  • Imperial
  • Kent 1st
  • Royal Holloway


1A South West

  • Cardiff
  • Exeter
  • Oxford
  • Southampton Solent
  • UWE


Division Two


2A Borders

  • Edinburgh
  •  Edinburgh Napier
  •  Lancaster
  • Teesside
  • West of Scotland
  • York
  • Heriot-Watt


2A North

  • Bangor
  • Bradford
  • Keele
  • Leeds
  • Edge Hill
  • Liverpool
  • Chester


2A Midlands

  • Coventry
  • De Montfort
  • Huddersfield
  • Leicester
  • Lincoln
  • Manchester Met
  • Northampton



2A South

  • Brunel
  • Buckingham New
  • Chichester
  • City
  • King’s College
  • Southampton
  • UCL


2A South West

  • Aberystwyth
  • Bath Spa
  • Bournemouth
  • Bristol
  • Gloucestershire
  • Oxford Brookes
  • Plymouth


2A South East

  • Anglia Ruskin (Cambridge)
  • Canterbury CC
  • Essex
  • Greenwich
  • London South Bank
  • Westminster
  • East London
  • Queen Mary






Nick 'Willy Tee' Wilson-Town hails from the South West where he's spent the last decade bouncing around various teams at the university and senior level. He came to fame on the now departed unofficial forum thanks to his regularly irreverent Uniball predictions and general 'BUAFL wafflage'. Follow him on twitter @WillyTee1