Premiership and Division One, league winners and relegation decided

The British American Football Association have confirmed the postseason line up for the Premiership and Division One:

The final weekend of the regular season for the Premiership and Division One took place on 27/28 July 2019 with lots of issues not being decided until the last weekend.

In the Premiership North, both the divisional winners and relegation wasn’t decided until the final weekend of the regular season.  At the top of the table, Manchester Titans hosted Tamworth Phoenix with the winners being crowned champions.  In a closely contested game, Tamworth Phoenix came out victorious 21-17, and were crowned Premiership North Champions.  They will now play London Blitz in the playoffs, for a space in the 2019 Brit Bowl waiting for the winner.  Also, in an exciting move for Brit Bowl, BAFA will be streaming this game as part of its new partnership with Onside Production.

At the bottom of the table, three teams entered the final weekend of the season battling relegation.  The team which finished the weekend at the bottom of the league was Leicester Falcons, and will therefore be relegated to Division One in the 2019/2020 season.

In the Premiership South, London Warriors dominated throughout the season, ending the season undefeated.  The bottom of the Premiership South was much closer, with Kent Exiles hosting Farnham Knights, with the loser facing relegation.  Kent Exiles ended victorious, winning the game 19-0, and so Farnham Knights will play in Division One in the 2019/2020 season.

Therefore in summary, the Premiership leagues ended with the following:-

Premiership North

Champion: Tamworth Phoenix

Runners Up: Manchester Titan

Relegated: Leicester Falcons


Premiership South

Champion: London Warriors

Runners Up: London Blitz

Relegation: Farnham Knights


The playoff fixtures, to win the chance to play in the 2019 Britbowl finals are as follows:-

Tamworth Phoenix v London Blitz

London Warriors v Manchester Titans

The above playoff games will be played on Sunday 18 August 2019, with the 2019 Britbowl being played on Sunday 1 September 2019, at the New River Stadium, London, kick-off 1600.


In Division One, there was also numerous issues which were not resolved until the last weekend of the season, at both ends of the tables.  However, the divisional winners, and the relegation spots, were decided as follows:-


NFC 1 North

Champion: Northumberland Vikings

Runners Up: East Kilbride Pirates

Relegation: Gateshead Senators


NFC 1 South

Champion: Sandwell Steelers

Runners Up: Shropshire Revolutions

Relegation: Doncaster Mustangs


SFC 1 Central

Champions: Solent Thrashers

Runners Up: Sussex Thunder

Relegation: Berkshire Renegades


SFC 1 East

Champion: Cambridgeshire Cats

Runners Up: London Hornets

Relegation: Colchester Gladiators

Ouse Valley Eagles (relegated for second yellow card)


The rankings for the playoffs are therefore as follows:-

  • #1 Sandwell Steelers
  • #2 Solent Thrashers
  • #3 Northumberland Vikings
  • #4 Cambridgeshire Cats
  • #5 East Kilbride Pirates
  • #6 London Hornets
  • #7 Sussex Thunder
  • #8 Shropshire Revolutions


The Division One quarter-final playoff games, to be played on 11 August 2019, will therefore be (home team listed first):-

Game 1: #2 Solent Thrashers v #6 London Hornets

Game 2: #4 Cambridgeshire Cats v #7 Sussex Thunder

Game 3: #3 Northumberland Vikings v #8 Shropshire Revolutions

Game 4: #1 Sandwell Steelers v #5 East Kilbride


The semi-finals will be played on 18 August 2019, and will be as follows (with the highest-seeded team having home advantage):-

Winner Game 1 v Winner Game 2

Winner Game 3 v Winner Game 4




Nick 'Willy Tee' Wilson-Town hails from the South West where he's spent the last decade bouncing around various teams at the university and senior level. He came to fame on the now departed unofficial forum thanks to his regularly irreverent Uniball predictions and general 'BUAFL wafflage'. Follow him on twitter @WillyTee1